Big Year Birding – Happy Winter Solstice!

aaa20130302-IMG_0247

Happy “First Day of Winter”!

An odd feature (I think) of My New Jersey Big Year is that it began and will end during Winter.  While I truly love winter birding, December is a very difficult birding month for me.  Short daylight hours and long work days cut out nearly all of the birding opportunities during the week.  Like so many other people, I leave for work in the dark and arrive back home in the dark nearly every day.    Couple that with seemingly endless numbers of “lunch meetings” during December and, bingo – no birding.

And, let’s face it, there are simply too many “things” that need doing during the holiday season and, like all hobbies, birding gets the short end of the stick even on weekends.  Shopping, wrapping, decorating, cooking – those are my December activities.

All that said – I have nothing to complain about when it comes to time spent birding this year.  My family has been HUGELY supportive of My New Jersey Big Year .

aaa20130302-IMG_0295

Friends and co-workers, if they know nothing else about me, ask about the progress of my Big Year.  Many, many others have also generously supported New Jersey Audubon Citizen Science and have followed the ups and downs of my birding year.

I will, no doubt, sneak in a day or two of birding between now and New Years Day 2014.  There are reports of a couple great birds hanging out near the shore that I hope to chase soon.

In the meantime, I am enjoying time with my family and friends.

Until next time, Good Birding!

Greg

One thought on “Big Year Birding – Happy Winter Solstice!

  1. Pingback: My New Jersey Big Year | Greg's World

Leave a Reply

