Big Year Birding – Species Number 300!

aaa20130403-IMG_0550

My New Jersey Big Year reached a great milestone today, while birding a favorite lunchtime destination, Charles Rogers Wildlife Refuge in Princeton.

I found a singing Philadelphia Vireo –  That makes 300 species since January 1st!

My species count stood at 291 on May 31st, so it took nearly 3 months to find 9 more species.

Back on January 1st, I was sitting in an icy cold Belmar parking lot before daylight listening to Herring Gulls, my first bird of the year.  It took 241 days, hundreds of birding hours, and thousands of miles to find a singing Philadelphia Vireo, my 300th bird of the year.

I can’t wait to see what the remainder of the year has to offer!

Until next time,  Good Birding.

Greg

 

4 thoughts on “Big Year Birding – Species Number 300!

  1. Sandra Keller

    Congratulations! That’s a lot of work! But fun! I doubt I will hit 300 this year. And you have more to seek out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

