Big Year Birding – April Summary

Caspian Tern

I’ve been really busy these last two weeks as I continue toward my twin goals of identifying at least 300 species within our wonderful Garden State and raising funds for the New Jersey Audubon Citizen Science program.   However, I want to take a moment and catch you up on where I was at the end of April.

So here we go – the first four months by the numbers:

Bird Species Identified – 247 (up from 187 species at the end of March)

Miles Traveled – 5075 (I had traveled 3720 miles by the end of March, so April was really busy!)

Counties Birded – 16   (Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Salem, Somerset, and Sussex)

Days Birded – 67   (out of 120 days)

Checklists Submitted to eBird – 171

I continue to make progress toward my goal of raising $10,000 for NJA Citizen Science, but I still need your help if I am going to be successful.  Please consider making your pledge today!

This year’s spring migration stumbled out of the gate; however, birding during the last week and a half has been really amazing and May is shaping up to be a banner month.

My citizen science activities have also ramped up during May and I’ll be blogging more about those outings soon.

Until next time…..Good Birding,

Greg

2 thoughts on “Big Year Birding – April Summary

    1. Greg Post author

      Hey Sandra…yes, I hope to bird every county by the end of the year. I have plans for birding two more counties, hopefully by the end of May. We’ll see how the summer goes for the remaining three counties.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

