Big Year Birding Update – First Three Months

aaa20130309-IMG_0440

As I continue toward my twin goals of identifying at least 300 species within our wonderful Garden State and raising funds for the New Jersey Audubon Citizen Science program, I thought it would be a good time to pause and reflect on what has been accomplished during the first three months of My New Jersey Big Year.

So here we go – the first three months by the numbers:

Bird Species Identified – 187

Miles Traveled – 3720

Counties Birded – 14   (Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Salem, and Somerset)

Days Birded – 49   (out of 90 days)

Checklists Submitted to eBird – 130

We’re a quarter of the way through the year and I’ve got a pretty good start toward my goal of 300 species.

I am making progress toward my goal of raising $10,000 for NJA Citizen Science, but I still need your help if I am going to be successful.  Please consider making your pledge today!

Spring migration is ramping up and scheduling of my Citizen Science activities has begun. This weekend I plan to scout a “nightjar” route, one designed to gauge the abundance of Whip-poor-wills, Chuck-will’s-widows, and Common Nighthawks.  These surveys are, quite literally, done by the light of the moon and are among my favorite in which to participate.

I’ll let you know how the scouting trip goes!  Until then,

Good Birding,

Greg

Leave a Reply

