Big Year Urban Birding – Meadowlands and DeKorte Park

aaa20130303-IMG_0518

What do you think of when someone mentions New Jersey’s Meadowlands?  Highly urbanized area? Football stadium?  Former dumping grounds?  All true.

How about birding?  I had my first experience birding in the Meadowlands birding with my friend Bill Margaretta last weekend and could hardly believe my eyes.  With the New York City skyline in the background, I was looking at some of the best birding habitat you could hope to find anywhere.

aaa20130303-IMG_0413

As part of our birding day, Bill and I had decided to give Richard W. DeKorte Park a try.  Along the way, we the great fortune of running into author and photographer Jim Wright, who writes and maintains the Meadowlands Nature Blog.  Jim remembered hearing about my New Jersey Big Year and offer us a tour of Harrier Meadow.

aaa20130303-IMG_0398

Harrier Meadow is a nice trail through a series of ponds and tidal mudflats.  We found Green-winged Teal, Common Merganser, Bufflehead, and Killdeer mixed in among big flocks of Canada Geese and gulls.  As a final bonus, we were treated to the sight of an American Kestrel launching into flight as we left Harrier Meadow.

My first experience birding the Meadowlands was a great success.  I had read reports from other birders about the area but, since I had never been there, I still didn’t know quite what to expect.  I was very pleasantly surprised and the experience was made even more enjoyable by Jim Wright’s hospitality.  Thank you Jim!

Good Birding,

Greg

4 thoughts on “Big Year Urban Birding – Meadowlands and DeKorte Park

  1. Sandra Keller

    I’ll be curious to see how many new areas you hit for birding! One thing about a big year, it gets one out chasing and exploring! I wish I lived closer to the Meadowlands!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

