And We’re Off! January 1st Birding

Glaucous Gull

I spent this morning birding several of the North Shore locations I talked about in my last post, starting at the marina in Belmar (NJ) before daylight and ending at Seven Presidents Park in Long Branch. Between those two locations, I birded Silver Lake (Belmar), Shark River Inlet, Sylvan Lake, Deal Lake (and the adjacent jetty) and Roosevelt Ave, Allenhurst Boardwalk, and Takanassee Lake.    All together, I spotted 50 bird species – not a bad start for my New Jersey Big Year.

Sandy Damage

There were some challenges along the way.  Here is a photo of all that remains of the board walk in Avon-By-The-Sea, a small shore town in Monmouth County, NJ.  This is only the smallest example of the damage caused by Superstorm Sandy last October.  All along my route this morning, I encountered closed roads (or missing roads), damaged buildings, and at least on prime birding area that had been completely wiped out by the storm.

Still, I had the opportunity to locate many birds that would be considered rarities for New Jersey, especially Glaucous Gull (in my photo above), Razorbill, and Western Grebe.  I had some misses, too.  I didn’t get the Crossbills spotted by other birders, often missing them by just a few minutes.  Such is a birding life!!

I am compiling list on the eBird web site and will post my results here and in other locations.  Below is today’s full list.

Brant
Canada Goose
Mute Swan
Tundra Swan (overflight)
Gadwall
American Wigeon
American Black
Duck
Mallard
Northern Shoveler
Black Scoter
Bufflehead
Hooded
Merganser
Common Merganser
Red-breasted Merganser
Ruddy
Duck
Red-throated Loon
Common Loon
Western Grebe
Northern
Gannet
Double-creasted Cormorant
Great Cormorant
Great Blue
Heron
Turkey Vulture
Cooper’s Hawk
Red-tailed Hawk
American
Coot
Sanderling
Purple Sandpiper
Ring-billed Gull
Herring
Gull
Glaucous Gull
Great Black-backed Gull
Razorbill
Rock
Pigeon
Mourning Dove
Blue Jay
American Crow
Fish Crow
Carolina
Chickadee
White-breasted Nuthatch
Carolina Wren
American
Robin
European Starling
Fox Sparrow
Song Sparrow
White-throated
Sparrow
Northern Cardinal
House Finch
House Sparrow

Good Birding!

Greg

One thought on “And We’re Off! January 1st Birding

  1. Pingback: Big Year Birding – Finish Line | My New Jersey Big Year

Leave a Reply

